Building Our Own Prisons

I am super excited to do this post because it’s one I’ve had on my heart for a while and I’m finally ready to pull it together and write it.  I decided to break it down into multiple posts over about a week just so it doesn’t get too long. I want to talk about how we so often, after proclaiming all the freedom we have in Jesus, go back into the world and build our own prisons and hold ourselves back from all he has for us.  I’ll cover many different areas in our lives that so often we build prisons in.  The idea that we aren’t all living in all God is for us is so sad, both because we’re missing out and because Christ died so we could have it.  2 Corinthians 5:15 says “And He died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for Him who died for them and was raised again.” Jesus died for all of us, what a waste it is not to live truly free. I love 2 Corinthians 3:17 that says “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”  We were never meant to be in chains, or prisons of our own making.  We were made to live with Christ in freedom.

Leave a comment